Thursday, August 25, 2011

Champions League 2011/2012 Drawing Result

UEFA Champions League drawing had been held last night. As usual, there wil always be “hell” group, as well as relatively easy group. The drawing result is also lead to reunion between players and his former clubs. Here’s the review.

The defending champions Barcelona will met seven times Champions League tophy holder, AC Milan. Barcelona is also trying to breaking Milan’s record, being the last team to hold back to back champions. Their competing in Group H, along with them, two “new comers”, BATE Borisov and Viktoria Plzen. To be frankly, this group is likely belong to Barcelona and AC Milan, with BATE and Plzen are competing for Europa League ticket.

Last year runner-up of UEFA Champions League joining relatively easy group. Playing in group C, Manchester United will “only” facing Benfica, Basel and Otelul Galati. Manchester United and Benfica seems to going to the next phase, though Basel and Galati could giving a big surprise, we still need to see.

Group A will be the toughest group, with Bayern Munich, Villareal, Manchester City and Napoli. Bayern and Villareal have a good tradition in Champions League. Being the champions for four times, Bayern seems to be the most favored team in this group. But Bayern will not have an easy campaign, Villareal, Manchester City and Napoli are proven as a though team. Villareal, has also good tradition so far. Their best achievement is going to in recent year is going to the quarter final. Manchester City is new comer as a team, but their squad filling with talented and experienced player.

Another interesting result is that, Juan Mata will instantly facing his former club, Valencia. And Real Madrid will, again will facing Olympique Lyonnais. It seems that the big name will relatively easy to to to the next phase. But surprise is something interesting, therefore, we are waiting for kinda surprisingly moment.

Grup A
Bayern Munich
Manchester City

Grup B
Inter Milan
CSKA Moskow

Grup C
Manchester United
Otelul Galati

Grup D
Real Madrid
Olympique Lyon
Ajax Amsterdam
NK Dinamo Zagreb

Grup E
Bayer Leverkusen

Grup F
Olympique Marseille
Borussia Dortmund

Grup G
Shakthar Donetsk
Zenit St. Petersburg
APOEL Nicosia

Grup H
AC Milan
BATE Borisov
Viktoria Plzen